The Blogger Diaries #1

elena

April is officially the month I have overcommitted myself, but c’est la vie.

1. Divergent – Yay, I went to see the Divergent movie with my friend, Julie! We both agreed the movie was really good and had excellent casting (side note: Theo James is smoking hot). Seeing the movie reminded me of all the things I loved about the first book, especially how Tris struggles with her identity. I may have to read Allegiant now and finish the series.

2. Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon – I signed up to be a blog cheerleader for the Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon taking placing on April 26th. If you would like to participate as a reader or cheerleader, visit their website.

3. Armchair BEA ~ May 26-31, 2014 – I’m also on the International Committee for this year’s Armchair BEA which is the online conference than takes place alongside the Book Expo America/BEA Blogger Convention every year. I joined last year as a participant for the first time and it was great event for meeting other bloggers and the craft of blogging. Registration starts soon so keep an eye on their website.

4. #MadameBovary2014 – The Madame Bovary read-along (read-a-long? readalong? I don’t know anymore) is in full swing! Master post is on my other blog ebookclassics and Juliana just posted the check-in for Part One on her blog. So far it’s been easy to read and I was surprised how quickly the title character transforms from a polite farm girl to desperate housewife.

5. #1Tale2Cities – I also signed up to read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens with Laura @ Reading In Bed between April 21-May19. You should too! I’ve only read Great Expectations, so Dickens is still fairly new to me.

6. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy – I’m also reading War and Peace for the Russian Literature challenge I signed up for in December. I aim to finish the book by July. The first five chapters have taken place at a party with a bunch of characters I’m sure must be important somehow and then some drunk guys dance with a bear. All sure signs this is a masterpiece.

7. Did Not Finish – I started reading Sister Wolf by Ann Arensberg, but I found the story incoherent (a reviewer on Goodreads called it whack-ass – LOL). I have decided to ditch it because The Wind Is Not A River by Brian Payton came in for me at the library. The story takes place during World War II and is split between a journalist stranded on an Alaskan island and his wife back in the U.S. planning to search for him.

8. The Afterword Reading Society – The National Post here in Canada runs this book club where there are 25 coveted physical copies up for grabs and you have the opportunity to submit questions to the author. After many many months of trying and failing, I was ready to unsubscribe. Of course, now that I have a million books to read this month, lo and behold a cheery email telling me that Lovers at the Chameleon Club by Francine Prose is on its way and I have until April 28th to answer their questionnaire. However, the book has yet to arrive. Ack!

9. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – I finally cracked open the Harry Potter DVDs I was given eons ago and watched the end of the series. Why did I wait so long? Now I feel like I need to go back and watch all of the movies again. I haven’t read the books and may wait until my kids are older so we can read them together.

10. Game of Thrones – Finally Games of Thrones is back for Season 4 which is so great because my life was pretty empty without its nudity and violence (kidding!). I heard someone on the Nerdist podcast nickname the show T&A with a chance of dragons. Now we just need True Blood to come back and we’ll have more bare butts than we can possibly handle.

What’s happening in your bookish life?

25 Comments on “The Blogger Diaries #1”

  1. writereads says:

    Overcommitted? Not at all! πŸ™‚
    That sounds like a crazy month!
    This month, the Edmonton Book Bloggers are joining together to read Come Barbarians by Todd Babiak so we could get him to come to the discussion (which he agreed to, thanks to Laura).
    – I’m still trying to keep up with Spring Reading Thing and so far it’s going well. I’m reading both Come Barbarians and Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore (am loving both).
    – I’m trying to do a bunch of research on Blood: The Stuff of Life for the podcast, but there is an awful lot of background stuff for this book so I hope I’ll be prepared for the recording on Friday.
    – I’m going to try and get Frog Music done early so I can get in on the goodreads Q&A with Emma Donahue by the due date.
    In a non-bookish capacity, things are crazy as it is the end of term for my dance classes so I’m getting all my wonderful students up on stage to astound everyone.
    Hmmm…I hadn’t listed it all in one place until now. How did I get myself into this? πŸ™‚
    Good luck with all your book endeavours! -Tania

    • What kind of dance are you teaching? (The back of my brain tells me I’ve seen photos of you via Laura). It sounds like you’ve got a busy month too. Is Todd Babiak a local author? I haven’t read Come Barbarians, but I did see a comment by actor Nathan Filion on the book. I liked your intro post for Blood, so I’m sure you will figure everything out for the podcast. By the way, I listened to the last podcast and you guys are so much fun. I will try reading along with you at some point. Good luck with your plans!

      • writereads says:

        I teach bellydance. Todd is an Edmonton author who is getting quite famous, and he appears to be a super nice guy who offers to go to book clubs reading his books and bring wine and make hummus. And even Fillion-adjacent is good πŸ™‚
        Thanks for listening! I figure we’ll get a few read alongs on Frog Music next month.
        Oh, and thank you for reviewing Divergent. I was a bit worried about that movie because the trailers look oh-so-cheezy. -Tania

        • Yes! I remember the photos now. Years ago I took bellydancing but I chickened out on the performance and I felt so horrible for being such a suck, I dropped out of the classes.

          Any author that makes his own hummus gets brownie points with me!

          Can’t wait to see how everything unfolds for you this month!

  2. Naomi says:

    You sound busy in good way, right? I saw Divergent with my daughter, and we both liked it! I thought it was well done.
    I read the Harry Potter books with my son, and it was so much fun to read them together, so that is my recommendation to you. πŸ™‚
    It’s a good thing you have until July to read War and Peace, but I can’t wait to hear what you have to say about it, because that is one book I might never get to. Not that there aren’t others.

    • I already have this sinking feeling that War and Peace is going to drag out unnecessarily, as many classics do. So far all of the chapters have been about introducing characters, but no clear plot has yet been laid out. I will persevere, but it’s going to be a big test of my patience! πŸ™‚

  3. Oh yay, Armchair BEA! I hope you post about your experience as part of the committee, that seems like fun! And I love A Tale of Two Cities so I hope you will too! War and Peace on the other hand… I never did finish it. I should though,I want to see what I’m missing. And it’s a lovely idea that you will wait to read Harry Potter so you can read it with your kids!

    • Did you find Tolstoy dragged out the story in War and Peace? I feel like that’s going to be the case and I’ll to really have to push myself like I did with Anna Karenina.

  4. kmn04books says:

    I’ve never participated in Armchair BEA but I’m excited to join this year! Looks like you have a busy month ahead of you πŸ™‚

  5. Julie says:

    I thought that Theo James could have had his shirt off a bit more…but overall Divergent was a good movie. Although I was bit bothered by the fact that as Abnigation Tris was not supposed to wear makeup, yet she clearly had mascara and eyeliner on during her time with them. Simple things like that bother me. I’m sure some fancy editing could have taken care of that. Did you know that Shailene Woodley, the girl who plays Tris is also starring as the girl in The Fault in our Stars? I loved, loved, loved that book, but I don’t think I’ll see the movie as I cannot see her as Hazel. Also, the actor who plays her brother in Divergent is her brother in TFiOS movie….are they that hard up for teen actors?

    Lets have another date for Insurgent!

    • Yes, they should put a “more shirt-less scenes” clause in Theo’s contract for the next movie. I did notice that Shailene Woodley was wearing a lot of make-up, as I was quite frequently admiring her false eyelashes. I haven’t read TFiOS, but I want to before the movie comes out. Would you change your mind about seeing the movie if we went together?

      • Julie says:

        For a night out without kids and some great conversation…I think I could be convinced to get over my initial discomfort with the casting!! Count me in!

  6. lauratfrey says:

    Wow!! How did you get yourself into this?

    I get confused about readalong/-along/a-long too. I did “read-a-long” last year for Moby-Dick and this year went with “read-along” because, well, “along” is a word!

    I will continue to imagine Mark Medley reading your comment about The Afterword and immediately sending you a book, so as not to provoke your wrath.

    My bookish sched is not so intimidating:
    -Come Barbaians book club w/ Tania
    -Frog Music podcast (already finished the book, loved it)
    -Library book club at the end of the month, must read Astray by Emma Donoghue
    -#yegbookclub is a local Twitter book club, discussing Pilgrimage by Diana Davidson, which I reviewed last year. I’ll try to get involved in that one…
    -I finally started my first “re-do” of a previously DNF’d book: The English Patient. I’m 40 pages in and looooving it.
    -Catch up on reviews – I’m always 2-3 months behind.
    -Madame Bovary – I’m right on sched, finished part I last night. I love the language but I’m waiting for something (sexy times) to happen!
    -#1Tale2Cities – thanks for joining!

    Ok, so that’s a bit. But not as crazy as you!!

    • Ooh, I did enjoy The English Patient when I read it many many years ago. What caused you to DNF the first time? I haven’t read anything by Emma Donoghue, so I think I’m way overdue.

  7. DoingDewey says:

    Wow, you’ve got lots of exciting bookish things coming up! I’m also doing Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon and I’m thinking about signing up for the Tale of Two Cities read-a-long as well.

    • Oh, well I’ll definitely be cheering your on for the Dewey marathon! I hope you decide to read Tale of Two Cities too. Have your read a lot of Dickens?

      • DoingDewey says:

        I’ve read Great Expectations and a Christmas Carol, but I think that’s it. Although as the host, Laura, pointed out, it can be hard to keep track when the stories are such a pervasive part of our culture, it can be hard to be sure! In fact, her relatable post has convinced me – I’ll definitely be joining in on this one πŸ™‚

  8. Whoowee, you have a lot of stuff going on! I’m glad you’ve signed up to be a cheerleader, (so did I!) I adore that event and it’s definitely a more the merrier kind of thing!

  9. Rory says:

    Game of Thrones. Yes. I wasn’t that fond of a particular scene in the most recent episode (the one in the sept, if you’ve seen it), but otherwise I’m enjoying it.

    I’m going to BEA in May, the overwhelmed feeling is really starting to kick in as of late.

    • The scene with Jamie and Cersei was shockingly awful. What made it worse was all the GOT people trying to justify the scene and calling it something else. But yeah, other than that I’m enjoying the show too … Have you tried reading the books?

      You are going to have an amazing time at BEA and make lots of good memories. I’m very envious that you are going!

      • Rory says:

        I have read them. I think that’s what upset me most about the scene. In the book, Cersei’s protest was the location of the act, not the act itself. It just seemed unnecessary to push it the direction they did.

        BEA is making my brain hurt.


Leave a Reply

