Top 5 Stephen King Appearances

For King’s March, I thought I would share some of my favourite Stephen King movie and TV appearances.

soa

1. SONS OF ANARCHY

SOA is one of my favourite shows right now and I’m currently catching up on Season 5. It was to my great delight when Stephen King made a guest appearance in Season 3 as a “cleaner” named Bachman (I love it!). Stephen wrote about the experience on his website.

* * *

jack

2. GUILLERMO DEL TORO’S THE SIMPSONS COUCH GAG

The beloved title sequence for The Simpsons becomes a masterpiece when handed over to Guillermo Del Toro for the 24th Treehouse of Horror episode. Technically, this isn’t a cameo, but the Mexican director makes a homage to The Shining and Stephen King shows up to surprise Bart.

* * *

3.  MAXIMUM OVERDRIVE

Stephen King not only has a cameo, but directed the movie! Based on the short story, Trucks, the movie is about machines coming to life and attacking humans. I loved Maximum Overdrive when I was younger because it starred Brat Packer, Emilio Estevez, and the soundtrack seemed to be AC/DC’s entire Who Made Who album.

* * *

4. SLEEPWALKERS

Sleepwalkers is about shape-shifting energy vampires who – um – kind of look like cats. Stephen King plays the caretaker for a cemetery where a fatal picnic has taken place. In this clip, his character is working very hard to cover his butt.

* * *

family

5. FAMILY GUY

Again, technically not a cameo, but I thought the Family Guy joke was funny.

What is your favourite Stephen King appearance?

7 Comments on “Top 5 Stephen King Appearances”

  1. Priya says:

    Ooh, I’ve always loved that Clive Barker and Stephen King scene. And the Simpsons one of course. 😉 Nice idea for a post, I’ll have to check out the others.

    • Priya says:

      Also, I’d love to find out what you think about The Body. Am planning on reading it this week myself. 🙂

      • Did you start The Body yet? I read it years ago and remember I loved it. I’m listening to the audiobook this time around and while I still think it’s so well-written, I forgot how much swearing is in the story. I swear I’m not a prude and it makes sense since the characters are young boys, but I caught my attention right away.

  2. […] from Honey, I’m Reading! posted a list of her favorite King appearances in movies and television shows. I’ve never even […]

  3. Rory says:

    I love everything about this post and I’m looking forward to the SOA appearance, I’m not there yet. I’m currently working my way through the end of season two. I can’t wait – Bachman, that’s great.

    • I’ve been making my way through SOA for awhile too. It’s a good show, but I often need to take a break from it. The Stephen King episode took me completely by surprise. The cameo is really cute and funny!

  4. […] (from Honey, I’m Reading!) posted a list of her favorite King appearances in movies and television and she reviewed […]


Leave a Reply

