Big Screen, Little Screen

Welcome to my monthly round-up of upcoming book adaptations on the big and little screen.

BIG SCREEN

Divergent – March 21st (U.S. release date)

Shaking in my boots because I’m so excited about seeing this movie! I loved the book and I’m currently reading Insurgent. From the best-selling Divergent series by Veronica Roth, the first movie is directed by Neil Burger and Shailene Woodley and Kate Winslet are just a few of the great actors in the cast. In the movie, Tris Pror (Shailene Woodley) lives in a society where people are divided into five factions based on their personality type. When Tris undergoes the aptitude test to determine her faction, a startling secret is revealed: she is Divergent. She decides to leave her family and face the grueling initiation process required to join the Dauntless.

I think Shailene Woodley is a great choice for Tris, but for some reason I always picture Shay Mitchell from Pretty Little Liars in my head when I read the book. On another fun note, it seems that Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort, who plays her brother in Divergent, also star as the young lovers in the upcoming adaptation of The Fault in Our Stars.

* * *

A Long Way Down – March 21st (UK release date)

From the Nick Hornby novel, A Long Way Down is directed by Pascal Chaumeil and stars Aaron Paul, Imogen Poots, Rosamund Pike, Toni Collette, Pierce Brosnan, Sam Neil, among many other amazing actors. The dark comedy is about four troubled people who meet at New Year’s Eve and form their own support group.

Apparently, Johnny Depp bought the rights to the book before it was even released, but I don’t think he was involved with the production of the movie. I loved Aaron Paul as Jesse in Breaking Bad, so I’m happy he is finding work in film. He has another movie being released in March, Need for Speed.

* * *

Noah – March 28th (U.S. release date)

From the ultimate classic book the Bible, Noah is directed by Darren Aronofsky and stars Russell Crowe, Jennifer Connelly, Anthony Hopkins and Emma Watson, among many others. In the movie, Noah (Russell Crowe) has visions of a world-ending flood and takes drastic measures to save his family by building a massive boat.

Apparently, both Christian Bale and Michael Fassbender were offered the role, but couldn’t accept due to scheduling conflicts. I think those actors would have been great, but Russell Crowe also has the right kind of stubborn, won’t-stop-for-anything focus required for the character. And I think he was born bearded and scruffy.

* * *

LITTLE SCREEN

No major shows or series adapted from a book to my knowledge premiering in March. However, the Academy Awards take place on March 2nd and will be hosted by one of my favourite comedians, Ellen DeGeneres. Of the nine movies nominated for Best Picture, the following are based on a book: Captain Phillips, Philomena, 12 Years A Slave and The Wolf of Wall Street. Who do you think will win?

I’ve only seen Captain Phillips and I thought Tom Hanks was great as always. I’ve heard lots of praise for Philomena and the most common comment about The Wolf of Wall Street is that at 3 hours it’s too f&*#@ long!

* * *

As for me, I’m still watching on the little screen The Walking Dead and The Musketeers. I just finished Season 1 of Orange is the New Black and I think I want to read the book now. The show is like high school set in a prison. The main character drives me crazy, but I find the other inmates endearing. What movie or TV show are you excited for in March?

7 Comments on “Big Screen, Little Screen”

  1. Cedar Station says:

    I actually liked The Wolf of Wall Street. I was nervous about seeing it because I’d heard it was so long, but it definitely doesn’t feel long while you’re watching. Pretty raunchy though, for sure!

  2. Naomi says:

    I don’t watch as many movies as I would like, but it’s still fun to see which ones are coming up. I read Long Way Down and really liked it. It looks like they did a good job with the casting. Noah looks impressive. And Ellen always crack me up. Thanks for posting these! They were fun to watch, and otherwise, I probably wouldn’t have seen them.

    • My pleasure! I also don’t watch as many movies as I would like. When my husband and I will try to watch a movie, I always fall asleep! I fell asleep three times trying to watch The Great Gatsby.

  3. kwilkins226 says:

    Great feature! I love adaptations but always have trouble keeping track of what’s coming out when 🙂

  4. I just remembered that I’m also watching House of Cards which is based on the UK show that is based on the novel by Michael Dobbs. Phew!


Leave a Reply

